Review: Good Girls Don't Die

Good Girls Don't Die
Good Girls Don’t Die by Isabelle Grey
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

As with most of the books I consume I listened to this on Audible and apart from a few dodgy accents, the quality of the narration was very good.

The story was very engaging with realistic characters and a story line that drew me in and kept me listening. As with the best story telling, the author adds back story to the main character that makes her seem more believable and which is threaded in to the story line throughout the novel.

The author puts you in the mind of the detective as she follows up on leads and tracks the suspects. The novel is written from a female viewpoint (fortunately the lead character is female) but doesn’t have an overly feminist agenda so this shouldn’t put off male readers. Little details are pointed out and there are plot twists and turns as the book progresses, although many of these are predictable because you know you are only half way through the book!

I’m a suspicious character by nature so I’d suspected the serial killer but then again over the course of the book I’d suspected several of the characters as many had a motive for killing young women. There are enough twists and turns to keep the story moving and the book doesn’t feel drawn out or too long.

I found out that there is a sequel to this book and it impressed me enough to want to read it! That’s why I gave this book 5 stars 🙂

View all my reviews

Author: Rob Butler

Science teacher, school leader and full time geek.